Following a week of enigmatic posts and buzz across social media, multi-platinum selling, Grammy-nominated Chicago band Fall Out Boy dropped a new song called “Young and Menace” today, which is available NOW on all digital service providers. The band also released the song’s music video.

“Young and Menace” – written and produced by Fall Out Boy – is the first taste of new music off the band’s forthcoming seventh studio album M A  N   I    A, out September 15, 2017 on Island Records/DCD2 Records. M A  N   I    A is available for pre-order now at https://falloutboy.lnk.to/mania.

“There’s a lyric in the song, ‘trying to send the world a message, I was young and a menace,’ that reminded me of growing up in the suburbs of Chicago. I didn’t look like anyone there or feel like anyone – I felt like an outsider in my own town. It wasn’t until I discovered punk rock and that community that I realized I did fit in somewhere in this world – with the other people who didn’t fit in,” says Fall Out Boy bassist & lyricist Pete Wentz of the reasoning behind the song’s title. “It’s hard to rationalize rage – it’s hard to quantify anxiety… this song does neither, it embraces the wave…”

Of the video, Wentz describes the protagonist’s journey to explore the world outside one she’s previously known. “The concept is the idea of a movie like Elf, where he realizes maybe he isn’t an elf after all, but ours has less comedic elements and more real world implication. She realizes that maybe she is human after all – but maybe the line between us and monsters is blurrier than we think…”

The band will embark on a 20-city North American fall arena tour, kicking off in Cleveland, OH on October 20 and travel through cities such as Detroit, Philadelphia, Boston, Brooklyn, Atlanta, Oakland and San Diego before concluding in Phoenix, AZ on November 18. Pre-sale tickets will be available beginning Monday, May 1. General tickets will be available to the public beginning Friday, May 5 at 10:00 a.m. local time. Special guest for the tour will be announced at a later date. In addition, $1 of every ticket of the tour will go towards the band’s newly launched Fall Out Boy Fund which will support a number of charities in the Chicago area. For more information, please visitwww.falloutboy.com/tour.

FALL OUT BOY – 2017 FALL TOUR

*All dates and venues subject to change

Date City Venue
Friday, October 20 Cleveland, OH Quicken Loans Arena
Saturday, October 21 St. Louis, MO Scottrade Center
Sunday, October 22 St. Paul, MN Xcel Energy Center
Tuesday, October 24 Detroit, MI Little Caesars Arena
Wednesday, October 25 Toronto, ON Air Canada Centre
Friday, October 27 Boston, MA TD Garden
Saturday, October 28 Brooklyn, NY Barclays Center
Sunday, October 29 Philadelphia, PA Wells Fargo Center
Thursday, November 2 Fairfax, VA EagleBank Arena
Friday, November 3 Charlotte, NC Spectrum Center
Saturday, November 4 Atlanta, GA Philips Arena
Sunday, November 5 Tampa, FL Amalie Arena
Tuesday, November 7 Houston, TX Toyota Center
Wednesday, November 8 Dallas, TX American Airlines Center
Friday, November 10 Denver, CO Pepsi Center
Sunday, November 12 Seattle, WA KeyArena
Tuesday, November 14 Oakland, CA Oracle Arena
Wednesday, November 15 San Diego, CA Viejas Arena
Friday, November 17 Inglewood, CA The Forum
Saturday, November 18 Phoenix, AZ Talking Stick Resort Arena

 

 

 

Facebook Comments

Tags: , , ,